Resolved this?

I saw a shirt for $97. I borrowed $50 from mom and $50 from dad. I bought the shirt with $3 of change. I gave $1 to mom, $1 to dad, and kept $1 for myself. Now I owe my mom $49 and my dad $49. $49+ $49=$98+my $1=$99. Where did the other $1 go?

Good trick, doesn’t work!.
You borrow $50 from your Mum. You give her $1 back. You have borrowed from her $49. You have also borrowed $50 dollars from your Dad, paid one back and now owe him $49.
Your total borrowings are $98. You spent $97 and put the extra dollar in your back pocket.
Where does the $100 jazz come from?

Leave a Reply

