What was your most embarrassing moment in front of your parents?

When I was 16 I had a strict, conservative Dad who imposed regular curfews.

Mostly I acquiesced but sometimes I’d try out some sass. In particular when I was with friends I wanted desperately to impress.

By now you can already tell this does not end well.

The following dialogue took place at 8:50 p.m. in front of my (gasp) friends.

Dad: I want you home before midnight.
Me: But –
Him: Home at 11:30.
Me: Hey! I just –
Him: Be home at 10:30.
Me: (Certain I would floor him) Why? I could have sex during the day too, you know.
Him: (Completely unperturbed) Dushka, please. I’m not concerned about your virginity. I’m concerned about your safety. Home by 9:00.
Sass never was very effective

Dushka Zapata, Reader. Writer. Communicator

Leave a Reply

